snigel50plus

Tyttösitsit

Publicerad 2013-09-28 19:47:00 i Dagens bild

Sitsit - the Finnish eqvivalence of a Swedish sittning, a formal dinner. The all girls sitsit happened to take place the same weekend as it would back in Linköping. I got a bit worried first when I signed up for the sitsit, for instead of choosing between red/white wine, beer or cider as I am used to, I got to choose what liqor I wanted after finish singing songs and with the coffee, but it was fine. I had a good time! Apart from the extra glasses it was very important to toast with your table neighbours in the right order. Other than that there were no major differences. I think that I would run in to different sittnings traditions if I were to visit different universities in Sweden as well. Perhaps it would be enough to just visit another sektion. There was a lot of singing. I hummed along and tried to pronounce the Finnish words. I had an exchange student next to me who is taken Finnish. She could pick out the numbers of what song we were singing and translate it for me so that I at least was trying to sing the right song.
The native Swedish speakers here are members of something called Teknologföreningen. First I was not planning to go there since I am not really here to speak Swedish but after talking to a couple of members I feel like checking it out. And it would be fun to go to a sitsit where I understand the toastmasters.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Hanna

Design och product development engineering student. Right now doing a year abroad in the Finnish capital. Coffee, the Swedish West coast and creative projects make me happy. I love film festivals and do some filming and video editing myself.

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela