snigel50plus

First exam

Publicerad 2013-10-21 10:49:00 i Hanna reflekterar

Today I have my first exam at Aalto University. I am equally afraid of finding the location of the exam as for the exam content itself. Also, what should I bring? Student ID and a pen off course but can I bring coffee? Where do I put my coat, keys, wallet? It is probably for the best to bring as little as possible. Hm.. I just realized that I might have been handed an exam guide during the orientation week. Lets see if I can find it.

The exam I have today is in Knowledge and Competence Management. It is about how we store and share knowledge with each other, within and between organizations. It is quite interesting. Most of the course material seems pretty straight forward, so to some extent it feels like one is over analyzing the obvious. At the same time by mapping how information is transfered you are aware of where obstacles might occur, and thereby able to avoid them.

Right now I am doing some last minute studying about social presence. Due to how we human are biologically design we are most susceptible to face-to-face communication. In such a situation we can interpret co-location, syncronity, body language, facial expressions and speech. Therefore it is useful to endeavor social presence. Social presence does not have to mean physical presence, the importance lies in the feeling of the other person being present. There are different levels of social presence. In the bottom of the scale are for example flyers or bulletins. A video conference gives a high social presence, a phone call or a letter an intermediate one.
 
As an exchange student I am grateful for the high social presence I experience during a Skype call. Studying abrod would have been a much tougher decision without knowing that I would be able to maintain a high level of social precence with family and friends.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Hanna

Design och product development engineering student. Right now doing a year abroad in the Finnish capital. Coffee, the Swedish West coast and creative projects make me happy. I love film festivals and do some filming and video editing myself.

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela